LIFE // Greetings from Türkiye!

DSC_8631

Wondering where I’ve been? Beşikdüzü, b*tches! I’d recommend searching it on Google Maps but I think it’s better if I give you some hints. It’s located in the Black Sea region of Turkyie, a few kilometers away from Trabzon or, in other words, in the middle of nowhere!

You may now ask yourself: what is such a fancy and respectable fashion blogger like myself doing there? (fingers crossed that you feel the irony) Well, my unconscious mind thought that it would be amazing to spend two full weeks in a small town located 2000+ km far from home, living together with more than 20 strangers who were brought there by their inner ambition to learn how to quilt. Yes, you read that right! And if you have no idea what quilting is, don’t worry – some of us only found out about it in the airport. However, FYI, this is quilting. Or this.

Contrary to popular belief, it turned out to be one of the best experiences of my summer! I met a bunch of really cool people with whom I had the most funny and deep conversations, I learned so much more about the Turkish culture even if it was my 3rd time there, I discovered some part of my personality that I thought I lost or lack and somehow I learned how to quilt. A bit.

Oh, but I forgot to tell you how I really got there. Maybe you are familiar with the Youth in Action projects… or not – anyway, I shall explain. These projects are sustained by the European Union and they encourage young people to participate in an intercultural dialogue in a foreign country, for a week or two. The UE pays for the participant’s accommodation, meals and activities and even 70% of the travel expanses. So pretty much you are all covered. I found out about this project on a Facebook group, I sent my CV to the sending organization, called some friends and invite them to join and that was it.

I am a huge fan of this kind of projects because it’s the only way I can afford to travel the world. Also, it forces you to step out of your confort zone and talk to people from other cultures, share ideas, manage conflicts and hopefully, change something in their perception about your country or race or religion or whatever is up for debate. And that’s such a beautiful thing to do at this age, don’t you think? And I don’t really give a s*it about all inclusive hotels, cruises, private parties in private pools on private beaches – for me, the real summer stories are full of unexpected events, adventures, sleepless nights, traditional food, hanging with the locals and being a traveler and not a tourist. Hope you agree with me :)

Enjoy the photos!  More to come xx

DSC_0068

DSC_8302

DSC_9137

DSC_8679

DSC_9183

DSC_9222

DSC_9865

DSC_9894

DSC_0130

DSC_0301

DSC_0156

DSC_0377

DSC_0374

3 thoughts on “LIFE // Greetings from Türkiye!

  1. Wow it seems such an adventure!! I can see you had lots of fun and I’m sure you’ll always cherish this moments for ever! Hugs&kisses!
    P.S Loved your words on being a traveler and not a tourist!

Let's talk!

